Just Winging It

 

The best complement to having nice eyebrows is putting on winged eyeliner. It requires skill, precision and lots of patience. This may be the hardest style of makeup to put on, but I am here to show you my tips and secrets that help me obtain crisp winged eyeliner.

Most people call this style eyeliner cat eyes. They are mysterious, edgy and are a great everyday look if you do not feel like putting on eye shadow. The key to getting the perfect wing is the brush that you use. I am currently using Sonia Kashuk brushes, that are sold at Target, to apply my wings. Elf also has awesome sleek brushes allowing for ultimate precision. Both of these brands are extremely affordable and show the same results as a higher end Sephora brush would.

When I first started putting on eyeliner, I used liquid eyeliner. I loath liquid eyeliner because I have a shaky hand and it makes it almost impossible for me to get it super straight. It is a little messier than other types of eyeliners and usually takes longer to dry. Another reason why I would not recommend doing a cat eye with liquid eyeliner is, if you have slightly droopy eye lids or hooded eyes, it could smug everywhere.

If you have any of the problems that I face when applying eyeliner, I would use cream or gel eyeliner. I do not usually worry about what type of cream I use as long as its black, especially for the cat eye. I believe everyone can pull off black eyeliner, particularly on the top of your eyelid.

The first thing I do is draw the line. This is a crucial step because it serves as the base for the cat eye. I have always gotten the best results starting from the outside of my eyelid and working my way inside. You are going to apply a straight line right along the lower lash line, and keep in mind that when you are doing this, both eyes will still be open. Some people take a piece of tape and put it on that area, but since we are using cream eyeliner and it is thicker, you will have all the time to make the lines accurate.

Next, I take my brush and start midway through the base line and work my way inside of the upper lash and line my eyelid. When using cream or gel eyeliner, you may have to do a couple of coats to make the liner bold. Depending on the occasion, you can make the eyeliner thicker on the outside and thinner on the inside creating a dramatic sleek wing. To do this, instead of starting to line from the middle of your base, start closer to the end of the base moving in on a decline.

You are going to mess up your first time, its inevitable, but as long as you have your concealer and a cotton swab on stand by, you will be just fine. Keep practicing and your wings will be sharper than ever before.

IMG_2330.JPG

 

Leave a comment